The New York Department of Motor Vehicles Point System

motor vehicle point systemThe New York Department of Motor Vehicles issues points for those who commit certain types of traffic violations on their license. This point system is designed to identify high-risk drivers who commit multiple traffic violations within a short amount of time. While many drivers make mistakes and have a few points on their license, this does not mean the DMV will suspend or even revoke a license; however, there are some violations that raise red flags and can even raise the insurance rates of the driver.

Bad driving habits will not only lead to getting points on a license, many insurers also have their own point system. When renewing a policy, if they find something as little as a speeding ticket, it could actually raise the insurance premiums. In extreme cases, insurance companies may even cancel the plan if they find the driver is too dangerous to insure since they are at a higher chance of getting in an accident. This will also make it difficult to find a replacement of the insurer and driving without insurance is illegal and could lead to losing the license all together.

Within an 18 month period, if a driver racks up 11 points onto their license, the New York DMV may suspend or revoke a license. There are also mandatory suspensions and revocations of licenses outside of common violations. Such violations include:

  • Speeding (more than 40 mph over posted limit): 11 pts
  • Speeding (31 to 40 mph over posted limit): 8 pts
  • Speeding (21 to 30 mph over posted limit): 6 pts
  • Speeding (11 to 20 mph over posted limit): 4 pts
  • Speeding (1 to 10 mph over posted limit): 3 pts
  • Reckless driving: 5pts
  • Failing to stop for a school bus: 5 pts
  • Using a portable electric device: 5 pts
  • Following too closely (tailgating): 4 pts
  • Inadequate brakes: 4pts
  • Failing to yield to the right-of-way: 3 pts
  • Violation involving a traffic signal, stop sign or yield sign: 3 pts
  • Railroad-crossing violation: 3 pts
  • Improper passing, unsafe lane change, driving left of center, or driving in wrong direction: 3 pts
  • Leaving the scene of an accident involved property damage or injury to a domestic animal: 3 pts
  • Safety restraint violation involving a person under 16 years old: 3 pts
  • Inadequate brakes while driving an employer’s vehicle: 2 pts
  • Any other moving violation: 2 pts

New York also has a program for drivers that have accumulated 6 points in an 18 month period called the Driver Responsibility Program. This costs the driver $100 a year plus an additional $25 a year for each point after that for 3 years or $250 for alcohol or drug related traffic violations.

If you have been in a car accident and need legal representation, contact the Law Offices of James J. Cupero to obtain the compensation you deserve.